WPT Philippines: Edilberto Gopez, Sandro Bruni & Paul McCabe Win Titles

Edilberto Gopez, Sandro Bruni & Paul McCabe
  • Profile picture
  • Arpit Jain February 10, 2020
  • 3 Minutes Read

The World Poker Tour (WPT) has come back with a stop in the Philippines after a good three-year-long hiatus, and the much-awaited festival commenced on February 6 and will run all the way through February 17. The stop is being held at the luxurious Okada Manila that has, in the past, been the host venue for many other live stops like PokerStars LIVE Manila Megastack, Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Manila and the Red Dragon Manila.

Okada Manila is an iconic casino resort and hotel complex built over 44 hectares with 993 exquisitely spacious rooms, over 21 dining options with Michelin-starred chefs’ and houses several other facilities. The casino claims to offer the most extensive variety of table games and slots in the country with over 3,000 electronic gaming machines, and around 500 table games.

There are 21 high-value tournaments on the WPT Philippines schedule that boast of a combined prize pool guarantee of PHP 17 Million between them.

It`s commendable that the WPT did not cancel the stop last-minute, given the Coronavirus outbreak. Further compounding the issues for the organizers was the announcement by the President on February 2, imposing restrictions on entry into the country. The government has banned all foreign nationality holders from entering the country except Filipino citizens and holders of Permanent Resident Visa issued by the Philippine Government.

With a considerable fall in turnouts imminent, the organizers were forced to reduce the prize pool guarantee in the PHP 80,000 buy-in Main Event from PHP 20 Million to PHP 12 Million. The Main Event is slated to run from February 14 – 17 and features two opening flights that will play out on February 14 and February 15, respectively.

The Coronavirus epidemic can also be attributed to the evident lack of Indian participation at the stop. Indian players who are usually very active at prominent Asian stops are noticeably missing in action at the series, with Chirag Tarunkumar Shah being the only reported Indian at the event so far. Shah has already picked up a score at the series with his 10th place finish in the Megastack NLH worth PHP 31,000 (~₹43,559) in prize money.

The series has already named three champions so far with Edilberto Gopez claiming the first-ever All Bankrolls Kickoff event title for PHP 596,200 following a six-way ICM deal. Meanwhile, Sandro Bruni took down the Main Event Warm Up for PHP 920,000, while the Megastack NLH was shipped by Paul McCabe for PHP 259,000.


All Bankrolls Kickoff

A brand new concept, the All Bankrolls Kickoff PHP 5 Million GTD featured six starting flights offering players choices to buy-in at PHP 5K (10,000 starting stack), PHP 10K (20,000 starting stack), or PHP 20K (40,000 starting stack) and all flights played down to the money with a min-cash worth PHP 30,000.

In all, the event logged in 371 entries (53 entries on Flight 1, 39 entries on Flight 2, 32 entries on Flight 3, 39 entries on Flight 4, 74 entries on Flight 5 and 134 entries on Flight 6) – falling short on its advertised PHP 5 Million guarantee.

A total of 32 players qualified for the final day at the end of which, Edilberto Gopez was seen posing for the winner pictures after a five-way flip and a six-way ICM deal.

After Christopher Mateo’s elimination in sixth place, the five players agreed to flip for the trophy, and Gopez ended up winning it to claim the title!

Edilberto Gopez
Edilberto Gopez


Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Edilberto Gopez – PHP 596,200*
  2. Emmanuel Segismundo – PHP 642,800*
  3. Joseph Sia – PHP 434,500*
  4. Wilson Tolon – PHP 324,100*
  5. Euryd Rivera – PHP 308,000*
  6. Christopher Mateo – PHP 912,900*
  7. Ryan McAllister PHP 657,500
  8. Terry Gonzaga – PHP 140,000
  9. Jessie Leonarez – PHP 115,000

*denotes 6-way ICM deal


Main Event Warm Up

The two-day-long Main Event Warm Up was taken down by Sandro Bruni for PHP 920,000 after an intensely fought heads up match with Anthony Abram.

The event attracted a total of 60 entries (47 on Day 1 and 13 on Day 2) who ponied up the PHP 55,000 buy-in to build a prize pool worth PHP 2,910,000 and the top eight places made it in the money.

Sandro Bruni
Sandro Bruni


Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Sandro Bruni – PHP 922,000
  2. Anthony Abram – PHP 740,000
  3. Ma Yong Keon – PHP 386,000
  4. Taijin Kim – PHP 262,000
  5. Michael Mariakis – PHP 204,000
  6. Daniel Holmedahl – PHP 160,000
  7. Petter Kristiansen – PHP 131,000
  8. Takuru Sugiura – PHP 105,000


Megastack NLH

The Megastack NLH attracted a vast field of 152 runners to create the prize pool of PHP 1,297,472, and the top 19 players earned a piece. Topping them all was UK’s Paul McCabe, who defeated Joven Huerto (runner-up for PHP 230,000) in the heads-up play and netted PHP 259,000 top prize.

Also making a deep run was Team India`s Chirag Tarunkumar Shah, who bubbled the final table, finishing 10th for PHP 31,000 (~₹43,559).

Paul McCabe
Paul McCabe


Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Paul McCabe – PHP 259,000
  2. Joven Huerto – PHP 230,000
  3. Kodai Doi – PHP 230,000
  4. Yu Kobayashi – PHP 81,000
  5. Roozbeh Namvarasi – PHP 63,000
  6. Kohei Wada – PHP 52,000
  7. Jian Xiang Soin – PHP 45,500
  8. Richard Marquez – PHP 40,500
  9. Takuya Mizuno – PHP 35,500


Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from the WPT Philippines 2020!

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of

Top Online Poker Rooms