Scott Hall Triumphs in WSOPC St. Charles Ameristar Main Event

Scott Hall wins WSOPC St. Charles Ameristar Main Event Cover
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh September 10, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) recently wound up its fourth stop of the year at St. Charles Ameristar. Headlining the stop was the $1,700 Main Event that crowned a champion in Scott Hall (cover image) who trounced a field of 414 entries to win the title along with $130,667 in prize money.

Native to Fayetteville, Arkansas, Hall has been playing poker for over 12 years. He was the shortest stack among the final three contenders who made it to Day 3 but charted an incredible climb to the top. Clashing with Andros Ioakimides heads-up, Hall denied the latter his second gold ring.

Hall later recalling his run on the final table said, “Coming into the final table I probably had the best run of hands I’ve ever had in live poker ever and It feels about as good as anything could feel really, it just feels great.”

Along with the prestigious title, he has also won a seat into the 2020 Global Casino Championship.

The entries came in across two starting flights, but only 67 could make it to Day 2. With play being only four spots away from the money, the bubble burst within the first 20 minutes of the game with Jesse Lott walking out the door empty-handed.

All the remaining 63 players were guaranteed at least $2,532. A flurry of eliminations whittled the field down to the final 11 players before the dinner break.

Mike Shin (12th for $9,361), Jeffery Trudeau Jr (14th for $8,579), Kyle Cartwright (22nd for $4,595), Martin Ryan (23rd for $4,595), Brett Apter (30th for $3,552), Nate Bandy (33rd for $3,203) and Keven Stammen (57th for $2,532) were some notable players who managed to cross the money line.

The final table was redrawn after the elimination of Dino Galic (10th for $9,361).

Final Table Recap

Just as the action kicked off on the final table, Paul Strohm was eliminated in ninth place at the hands of Albert Morrow who flopped a set of jacks to dominate Strohm’s pocket tens.

Soon, Gil George, Brent Barfield, and Indian-origin player Ravi Raghavan hit the rail in quick succession collecting payouts for places eighth to sixth respectively.

Jerod Smith didn’t take long to follow them out in fifth place after his pocket eights were cracked by Hall’s pocket sixes that flopped a set.

Next up, Edward Dixon moved all-in for his last 500,000 from the big blind and was called by Albert Morrow from the button. Dixon tabled ace-jack versus Morrow’s ten-nine. The flop saw Morrow hitting a pair of tens, and a nine on the turn improved him to two-pair, sending Dixon out in fourth place.

The three remaining players bagged up for the night and leading the trio was Morrow with a stack of 5,885,000.

Final Day Chip Counts

  1. Bill Morrow – 5,885,000
  2. Scott Hall – 5,285,000
  3. Andros Ioakimides – 1,255,000

Final Day Recap

The play went on for a while on Day 3 before Bill Morrow went crashing out in third place. The action began with Hall opening to 175,000 and Morrow three-bet for 500,000. Hall called to see the flop. Morrow then jammed for 4 Million, sending Hall into the tank for some time before he made the call, showing against Morrow’s . Morrow had the nut flush draw but couldn’t complete it on the turn or the river and got up to leave.

At the start of the heads-up match, Hall was commanding more than 10 million in chips as compared to Andros Ioakimides’ 1.2 Million. Though the first hand saw Ioakimides scoring a double up, Hall took down the title in the very next hand. On the final hand of the tournament, Ioakimides opened for 175,000 and Hall called. After the flop, Ioakimides fired a bet of 250,000 and Hall called again. The turn saw Hall bet 540,000 and Ioakimides check-called. He moved all-in after the popped up on the river and Hall immediately called.

Scott Hall

Andros Ioakimides

Hall rivered the nut straight to win the title!

Scott Hall wins WSOPC St. Charles Ameristar Main Event
Scott Hall

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Scott Hall – $130,667
  2. Andros Ioakimides – $80,761
  3. Albert Morrow – $58,653
  4. Edward Dixon – $43,198
  5. Jerod Smith – $32,271
  6. Ravi Raghavan – $24,458
  7. Brent Barfield – $18,810
  8. Gil George – $14,692
  9. Paul Strohm – $11,634

Content & Images Courtesy: World Series of Poker

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of

Top Online Poker Rooms