DPT Xpress 2019: Debashis Bal Wins Series-Opener ₹5K Burn N Turn Event For ₹1.60 Lakhs

  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee K. Ganguly March 15, 2019
  • 4 Minutes Read

The much-awaited 2019 Deltin Poker Tournament Express (DPTX) Sikkim kicked off on March 14. A sub-brand of the much bigger DPT brand, DPTX mainly caters to the low-mid stakes poker players. Hosted at the picturesque Casino Deltin Denzong, the 2019 DPTX Sikkim is the second edition of the series which inaugurated last year in September. With the Pakyong Airport in Gangtok commencing operations in October 2018, the series is expected to experience a better turnout than last year.

The series opener, i.e., the ₹5K Burn N Turn event, pulled in a total of 130 entries (56 unique, 27 rebuys and 47 add-ons) which eclipsed last year’s turnout of 122 entries. While several familiar faces were seen in the fray including Ankit Jajodia, Shivam Shukla, last year’s BurnNTurn champion Vivek Anand Baskey, Yuvraj Chaudhary, Karan Sawhnay and Manjit Jajoo, outlasting the field to take down the title was Debashis Bal (cover image) who collected a handsome paycheque of ₹1.60 Lakhs.

Bal, who is a trained coder, was a regular in the Goa poker circuit back in the day with a string of scores to his name including a title at the Golden Aces Poker League. He has also dabbled in the operational side of the game and was the Team Director of Kolkata Kings for Poker Sports League (PSL).

Bal’s impressive victory in the opening event has set the mood for the rest of the series. With three more events yet to play out, things are about to heat up in the pleasant backdrop of Deltin Denzong.

Out of the 130 entries registered at the event, only 11 were assured payouts. Shivam Shukla took on the unfortunate tag of the tournament bubble, and Yuvraj Choudhary (11th for ₹14,000) was the first player to finish in the money. Ankit Jajodia bubbled the final table and finished 10th for ₹18,000.


Final Table Recap

The 2018 DPTX ₹15K Main Event winner Bhola Sharma became the first elimination on the final table. Sharma’s ran into Debashis Bal’s which bettered to two pairs on the board, leading to Sharma’s ninth-place finish.

Bhola Sharma
Bhola Sharma

Sahil Parakh was the next player to hit the rail when his were busted by his opponent’s . The board resulting in Parakh`s eighth-place exit.

A level later, Anant Purohit moved all-in with , and Shekhar Agarwal called with . The board spread out and missed both players. Agarwal’s ace-king kicker knocked Purohit out of the competition in seventh place.

Finishing in sixth place was Cyrus Pesi Sidhwa. Sidhwa jammed for 60,000 with and the player in big blind called for 70,000 holding . Though Sidhwa flopped a pair of tens on the runout , it was no match for his opponent’s pocket jacks.

Down to the last five runners, Sanchit Pande shoved all-in with and was called by the player in the small blind who held . The board brought . Small blind picked up three-of-a-kind tens on the river to eliminate Pande in fifth place.

With the four finalists left in contention, the race to the finish line intensified. During level 21, the player in under-the-gun (UTG) moved all-in with and short-stacked Vikramjeet Singh Pandher called with . The community cards did not help either player, and Pandher was eliminated in fourth place.

Shekhar Agarwal was the last player to be eliminated before the heads-up play commenced. Agarwal’s were cracked by his opponent’s .

The final showdown between Debashis Bal and Abhishek Mazumder did not take long to wrap up.

Abhishek Mazumder
Abhishek Mazumder

On the final hand, Mazumder moved all-in for 530,000 with , and Bal called with . The rundown showed , and Bal found a pair of treys on the turn to seal Mazumder’s fate in the runner-up spot. Bal bagged the title, along with an impressive payday of ₹1.60 Lakhs!

Debashis Bal
Debashis Bal


Final Table Results (INR)

1. Debashis Bal – ₹1,60,000

2. Abhishek Mazumder – ₹1,10,238

3. Shekhar Agarwal – ₹75,000

4. Vikramjeet Singh Pandher – ₹57,000

5. Sanchit Pande – ₹48,000

6. Cyrus Pesi Sidhwa – ₹48,000

7. Anant Purohit – ₹34,900

8. Sahil Parakh – ₹28,000

9. Bhola Sharma – ₹23,000

Content & Images Courtesy: Online Poker News, India

Keep following PokerGuru for more exciting updates from the 2019 DPTX Sikkim!

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of

Top Online Poker Rooms