DPT February 2018: Ashish Ahuja & Nikhil Jain Win Last of the Side Events

  • Profile picture
  • PG News February 19, 2018
  • 8 mins Read

Domestic poker extravaganza Deltin Poker Tournament (DPT) successfully concluded its first edition this year after crowning the last of its two side event champions. The ₹20K Bounty NLH was taken down by Ashish Ahuja for ₹3.32 lakhs while the ₹20K Pot Limit Omaha event was taken down by Nikhil Jain for ₹2.49 lakhs.

The ₹20K Bounty NLH that registered 84 entrants was supposed to be a two-day affair with Day 1 to play out on Sunday, while the final table was scheduled to conclude today. After, the player’s consent, the organizers decided against halting play for a day and instead concluded the event on Day 1 itself. The event stretched on till 6:40 a.m on Monday bringing the series to a close.

₹20K Pot Limit Omaha that started at 5 pm on Sunday drew 38 entries and the eventual winner Nikhil Jain did not take long to navigate through the six-handed final table that lasted less than two hours.


20K Bounty Event

Ashish Ahuja emerged the champion in the Bounty event, taking home ₹3.32 lakhs. He claimed a total of 14 bounties along the way including an impressive five bounties he picked up on the final table. Gokul Krishna finished runner-up for ₹2.35 lakhs. In all, the event attracted a modest field of 84 hopefuls, with the top 11 finishers collecting a piece of the prize pool.

The money bubble burst on Karan Gupta and others who missed the money bus included Sunita Sundha, Nathan Rao, Bharat Agarwalla, Vikram Freeman, Ajay Kumar and Deepak Raina.

Firoz Khan went out on the final table bubble in 10th place collecting ₹30,100 for his efforts.


Final Table Recap

The nine-handed final table saw its first elimination in Hardik Shah who hit a set with his pocket eights but lost to Ashish Ahuja’s ace high flush, settling for a ninth place finish. The second casualty was Amol Shetty who exited at eighth place.

Shariq Khan followed Shetty to the rail at seventh place followed by Amrita Sethi in sixth place.

The next casualty was Pukhraj Singh, who came up against Krishna’s . The board ran giving Krishna a straight while Singh holding only made a pair and hit the rail in fifth place.

Sameer Chaturvedi exited in fourth place when his king-seven lost to Ahuja’s ace-six who hit top pair on the ace high board.

Ahuja was on an elimination spree as he sent Pradeep Sharma packing next. Ahuja hit a three of a kind aces with on the board against Sharma’s . Sharma exited in third place setting up the heads-up between Ahuja and Krishna in motion.

The last hand of the event saw Krishna jamming with and Ahuja called tabling a better . The board ran giving Ahuja top pair and the title.

Ashish Ahuja

                                                      Ashish Ahuja

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Ashish Ahuja – ₹3,32,100

2. Gokul Krishna – ₹2,35,700

3. Pradeep Sharma – ₹1,54,300

4. Sameer Chaturvedi – ₹1,18,700

5. Pukhraj Singh – ₹94,000

6. Amrita Sethi – ₹73,000

7. Shariq Khan – ₹57,000

8. Amol Shetty – ₹45,000

9. Hardik Shah – ₹34,000


20K Pot Limit Omaha

The ₹20K PLO registered a total 38 entries. Deepak Raina and Sumit Chandani were the early eliminations of the event and due to the fast pace; by 11pm just 7 players were left with the eventual champion Nikhil Jain leading the way.

Only six players cashed in the event with the final table comprising of seven players. Action on the final table showed no signs of slowing down and it took only two hours for a champion to emerge.


Final Table Chip Counts

1. Nikhil Jain – 132,800

2. Jagdish Jayaraman – 90,600

3. Rajat Jain – 45,200

4. Idries Khan – 40,500

5. Ram M – 40,300

6. Myron Pereira – 14,400

7. Riyaz S – 12,100


Final Table Recap

Elimination at the final table began with Idris Khan who unfortunately also bubbled the event at seventh place.

Riaz S settled for a min-cash at sixth place with Myron Pereira exiting in fifth place when his lost to Jagdish Jayaraman’s on the rundown .

Rajat Jain was the next player to hit the rail in fourth place and three-handed play ended with the exit of Jagdish Jayaraman. Jayaraman tabled while the eventual champion Jain showed . The board ran supporting Jain with a three-of a kind fours, eliminating Jayaraman in the process. With that the heads-up battle between Jain and Ram Munjuluri commenced.

On the last hand of the event, Jain’s were up against Munjuluri’s . The board opened and Jain made a higher pair to ship the final event of the series!

Nikhil Jain

                                                   Nikhil Jain

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Nikhil Jain – ₹2,94,400

2. Ram Munjuluri – ₹1,72,300

3. Jagdish Jayaraman – ₹1,10,000

4. Rajat Jain – ₹84,000

5. Myron Pereira – ₹66,000

6. Riaz S – ₹52,000

Image/Content Courtesy: Online Poker News

Related Articles:

1. DPT February 2018: Dainik Mehta Takes Down ₹35K Main Event For ₹23.19 Lakhs

2. DPT February 2018: Alok Birewar Ships Adda52 ₹65K High Roller For ₹17.74 Lakhs; Gokul Krishna on Top After Day 1B of Main Event

3. DPT February 2018: Vivek Singh Takes Down Deep Dive Event For ₹6.57 Lakhs; Sumit Sapra Leads High Roller & Gagandeep Malik Tops Day 1A of Main Event

  • Categories

  • Keywords

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Up Your Game

  • Learn from the best Connect with India's top players
  • Boost your bankroll Exclusive real money bonuses
  • Claim your profile Your personal poker dashboard

Top Online Poker Rooms