Baadshah Gaming Live Tournament: S Saravanan Wins High Roller Title, Vickey Narwani Wins Series-Ending Heads-Up Event

  • Profile picture
  • PG News April 12, 2018
  • 8 mins Read

The second edition of the Baadshah Gaming Live Tournament series closed out another smashing series early on Tuesday with the culmination of the last two events on the schedule. Both the ₹75K High Roller and the ₹25K Heads-Up event were new additions to the series and made for an exciting end to a busy weekend of poker action.

The ₹75K High Roller was won by 32-year-old Chennai based S. Saravanan who banked the ₹12.50 Lakhs top prize after outlasting a field of 48 entries for his first career title. Saravanan put up an impressive performance to climb his way up from the shortest stack at the start of the final table all the way to the title where he finally defeated Hyderabad’s 35-year-old Gokul Krishna heads-up. Krishna finished runner-up and collected ₹9 Lakhs for his efforts.

Wrapping up the series was the ₹25K Heads-Up event where 40-year-old Mumbai-based businessman Vickey Narwani aka Mistah.Bond won five consecutive heads-up matches to take home the title along with ₹4 Lakhs in prize money. Like Saravanan, this was also Narwani`s first major tournament win.


75K High Roller Event

Off to a late start, the High Roller managed to pick up 35 entries on the opening Day 1 with the field size increasing to 48 entries by the time Day 2 began on Monday.

Most of the field managed to bag for the night with PokerBaazi Team pro Vikram Kumar leading the way with 134,825 in chips.

Team PokerStars pro Aditya Agarwal was one of the last players to register for the event and directly entered before Day 2. He made the day count and even booked a profit for the series by finishing fifth for ₹2.75 Lakhs.

The biggest story at the BLT was Jasven Saigal, one of the most consistent players on the domestic circuit Saigal made two final table finishes at the series finishing seventh both in the Warm-Up and Bounty events. He was chasing a third final table finish in the event but hit the rail in eighth place – on the final table bubble and just two spots away from the money.

Jasven Saigal

                                                Jasven Saigal

On Saigal`s final hand, Sriharsha Doddapaneni opened for 12,000 and he shoved with pocket sixes. Doddapaneni called with pocket jacks and nothing changed on the rundown.


Final Table Chip Counts

1. Sriharsha Doddapaneni – 404,000

2. Gokul Krishna – 373,500

3. Raghav Bansal – 309,500

4. Pavan Jain – 216,000

5. Aditya Agarwal – 213,000

6. Rajat Sharma – 155,000

7. S Saravanan 147,500


Final Table Recap

It was an entertaining contest from the get-go with the final table commencing play on the money bubble. The structures allowed the short stacks some breathing space and as expected the first elimination took some time coming.

The money bubble finally burst on Rajat Sharma whose couldn’t find an Ace against chip leader Sriharsha Doddapaneni‘s pocket Kings.

Rajat Sharma

                                                 Rajat Sharma

The first player to exit in the money was Pavan Jain who opened and then called Doddapaneni’s 3-bet. On the flop , Sriharsha bet and Jain check-raised to which Sriharsha jammed. Jain called with while Doddapaneni showed for flopped two pair. Nothing changed for Jain on the rundown and and he busted in sixth place.

Pavan Jain

                               Pavan Jain

Aditya Agarwal was looking to follow up on his runner up finish at the APPT Macau 2018 Main Event with another big score in Goa. Agarwal had a swingy ride throughout and finally settled for a fifth-place finish. Short-stacked Agarwal jammed with only to run into the eventual champion Saravanan's pocket queens.

                                 Aditya Agarwal

Next up, high roller specialist Raghav Bansal`s picked up yet another high roller score with a fourth place finish here. Bansal jammed over Doddapaneni’s open with and the latter tabled . The board ran :@:6h and Doddapaneni took down the pot with his full house.

Raghav Bansal

                                              Raghav Bansal

Doddapaneni’s luck ran out soon thereafter and he hit the rail in a straight over straight hand and with that, the heads-up battle began with Gokul Krishna starting off with almost 2:1 chip lead over S Saravanan.

Sriharsha Doddapaneni

                                           Sriharsha Doddapaneni

Saravanan who seemed undeterred starting off as the underdog the entire day soon got back ahead. The heads-up battle was intense yet short and on the final hand of the tournament, Krishna moved all-in with and Saravanan snap called with pocket aces and won as the board rolled out , crowning Saravanan as the first-ever BLT High Roller champion.

S Saravanan

                                                 S Saravanan

Final Table Results (INR)

1. S Saravanan – ₹12,50,000

2. Gokul Krishna – ₹9,00,000

3. Sriharsha Doddapaneni – ₹6,00,000

4. Raghav Bansal – ₹4,00,000

5. Aditya Agarwal – ₹2,75,000

6. Pavan Jain – ₹1,75,000

Read the complete coverage of the event here.


25K Heads-Up Event

Wrapping up the series was the entertaining Heads-Up format tournament where 32 players, most of whom had pre-registered for the event, participated. Topping them all after winning five consecutive heads-up matched was a 40-year-old businessman from Mumbai, Vickey Narwani. He defeated Vivek Rughani in the final heads-up match to win the 4 Lakhs top prize while Rughani made ₹2 Lakhs for his runner up finish.

The event paid out the top four places who shared the ₹8 Lakhs prize pool with notables like Aditya Sushant, Eka Vedantham, Kunal Patni, Nishant Sharma, Meherzad Munsaf, Vikram Kumar, Dhaval Mudgal, Romit Advani, Alok Birewar, Amit Sur, Manoj Pentakota, Rajeev Raut, Devesh Thapar and Navkiran Singh in attendance.

The semi-final round saw Anik Ajmera battling it out with Vickey Narwani and Rajeev Raut pitted against Vivek Rughani.

Narwani and Rughani went into the heads-up battle with the former finally emerging victorious. The final hand of the event saw Narwani’s pocket deuces against Rughani’s Ax 7x and Narwani kept his lead to lift the final trophy at the series.

Vicky Narwani

                                               Vickey Narwani

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Vickey Narwani – ₹4,00,000

2. Vivek Rughani – ₹2,00,000

3. Rajeev Raut – ₹1,00,000

4. Anik Ajmera – ₹1,00,000

Related Articles:

1. Baadshah Gaming Live Tournament: Australia’s Bobby Zhang Ships Main Event on Maiden Trip to India For ₹17 Lakhs

2. Baadshah Gaming Live Tournament: Vidwath Shetty Wins ₹15K Bounty Event For ₹1.60 Lakhs After 3-Way Deal

3. Baadshah Gaming Live Tournament: Aditya Sushant Wins Opening ₹10K Warm-Up Event For ₹3.89 Lakhs

  • Categories

  • Keywords

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Up Your Game

  • Learn from the best Connect with India's top players
  • Boost your bankroll Exclusive real money bonuses
  • Claim your profile Your personal poker dashboard

Top Online Poker Rooms