APPT Korea 2019: Toshiyuki Onda Takes Down ₩5M High Roller One Day Event; Xing Biao Zhu Captures 2nd APPT Title in ₩500K NLH Knockout Freezeout

Toshiyuki Onda & Xing Biao Zhu
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee K. Ganguly April 13, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

Though the ₩1.8 Million Main Event is the center of attention for everyone either attending or following the coverage of the 2019 Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Korea, several other equalling exciting events have also been crowing winners at the series. The latest in the list of such events were the ₩5M High Roller One Day Event and the ₩500K NLH Knockout Freezeout.

Japan’s Toshiyuki Onda clinched his career-first live title and his first-ever PokerStars LIVE title by taking down the ₩5M High Roller One Day Event which had pulled in 75 entries. Following a heads-up chop with eventual runner-up Kengo Sakurai, Onda banked his career-best score of ₩80,440,000 (~₹49.02 Lakhs) at the event. Indian pro Yasheel Doddanavar was seen in action at the event but failed to make an impact as he was eliminated before the money line was breached.

Xing Biao Zhu continued his stellar run at the series with his fifth final table finish at the stop and his second title in the ₩500K NLH Knockout Freezeout event which came along with ₩11,024,000 (~₹6.71 Lakhs) in prize money.


5M High Roller One Day Event

The APPT High Roller One Day Event had a buy-in of ₩5,000,000 (~₹3.04 Lakhs) and attracted 75 entries, generating a prize pool of ₩341,925,000 (~₹2.08 Crores).

With only the top 11 spots assured payouts, the race to finish in the money was intense. After an action-packed day, Japan’s Toshiyuki Onda emerged as the winner after besting fellow countryman Kengo Sakurai heads-up. Onda claimed his first-ever PokerStars LIVE title, along with a career-best ₩80,440,000 (~₹49.02 Lakhs) in prize money.

India’s Yasheel Doddanavar had jumped into the High Roller One Day event after busting Day 1A of the Main Event, however, he was eliminated short of the money bubble.

Yasheel Doddanavar
Yasheel Doddanavar

The event was replete with poker stars, and many among them failed to make it in the money including PokerStars Team pro Celina Lin, online specialist Randy Lew, China’s Wayne Zhang, reigning Asia Player of the Year Mike Takayama, APPT Korea Short Deck champion Phachara Wongwichit and 2016 APPT Seoul champion Albert Paik.

Danny Tang bubbled the final table finishing 10th, while Jun Obara scored an 11th place finish and became the first player to finish in the money. Both players min-cashed for ₩8,550,000 (~₹5.21 Lakhs) each.

₩5M High Roller One Day Event Final Table
₩5M High Roller One Day Event Final Table


Final Table Recap

Japan’s Shinji Kashima was the first player to exit the final table in ninth place, and he was followed by China’s Haoqi Xie in eighth and American pro James Won Lee in seventh place.

Hong Kong’s Vincent Li (6th) and 2018 APPT National and High Roller champion Yuki Ko (5th) were the next two players to depart, with Malaysia’s Wai Kiat Lee exiting in fourth place.

Germany’s Daniel Smiljkovic, who had started off the final table proceedings as the chip leader, lost some crucial hands during the three-handed play and hit the rail in third place.

Kengo Sakurai carried 4.3 Million chips into the heads-up finale against Toshiyuki Onda’s 3.2 Million. The chip lead changed hands several times before Onda evened up the stacks and the pair decided on an even money chop. Both players locked in ₩80,440,000 (~₹49.02 Lakhs) each for their efforts, choosing to play for the trophy and the title.

It did not take long for Onda to secure the win. Onda jammed with , pre-flop and Sakurai called with . Onda hit an ace on the flop to clinch the trophy and his first PokerStars LIVE title.

Toshiyuki Onda
Toshiyuki Onda

Final Table Results (KRW)

1. Toshiyuki Onda – ₩80,440,000*

2. Kengo Sakurai – ₩80,440,000*

3. Daniel Smiljkovic – ₩43,765,000

4. Wai Kiat Lee – ₩33,680,000

5. Yuki Ko – ₩26,670,000

6. Vincent Li – ₩20,855,000

7. James Won Lee – ₩16,410,000

8. Haoqi Xie – ₩12,820,000

9. Shinji Kashima – ₩9,745,000

*denotes heads-up deal


500K NLH Knockout Freezeout

The fast-paced ₩500K NLH Knockout Freezeout pooled in 126 entries, creating a prize pool of ₩42,399,000 (~₹25.84 Lakhs) which included additional ₩12,600,000 (~₹7.67 Lakhs) awarded in bounties. APPT Kickoff champion Xing Biao Zhu became the second player at the series, after Yan Li who won the ₩350K NL Hold’em Freezeout and APPT National, to win a second title at the 2019 APPT Korea.

Zhu faced Taiwan’s Cheng How Pan in the final showdown and defeated the latter to claim ₩11,024,000 (~₹6.71 Lakhs) in prize money.

The Chinese pro has had a spectacular series thus far, and this latest win marks his fifth APPT Korea final table appearance at this stop, taking his combined winnings to ₩42,156,000 (~₹25.69 Lakhs) in the series.

A total of 15 players made it in the money including Roman Shcherbakov (10th for ₩1,060,000), Dong Guo (11th for ₩848,000), Jun Saito (12th for ₩848,000), Pengyu Lin (13th for ₩636,000), Patrick Tien Min Liang (14th for ₩636,000) and Ryutaro Toda (15th for ₩636,000).

Xing Biao Zhu
Xing Biao Zhu

Final Table Results (KRW)

1. Xing Biao Zhu – ₩11,024,000

2. Cheng How Pan – ₩7,420,000

3. David Lim – ₩4,875,000

4. Kongzhi Hou – ₩3,816,000

5. Han Song – ₩2,968,000

6. Renjun Yang – ₩2,544,000

7. Chengbei Li – ₩2,120,000

8. Kenta Honke – ₩1,696,000

9. Takuya Ohgai – ₩1,272,000

Content & Images Courtesy: Asia Pacific Poker Tour

Keep following PokerGuru for the more exciting updates from the 2019 APPT Korea!

Related Players

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Up Your Game

  • Learn from the best Connect with India's top players
  • Boost your bankroll Exclusive real money bonuses
  • Claim your profile Your personal poker dashboard

Top Online Poker Rooms