APPT Macau 2018: Arjjun Singh & Kunal Patni Make Day 2 in APPT National; Kristen Bicknell Tops Day 2 of APPT National High Roller

APPT Macau 2018
  • Profile picture
  • PG News March 17, 2018
  • 3 Minutes Read

All the poker energy is currently focused at the stunning City of Dreams in the gambling hub of the eastern hemisphere – Macau where the PokerStars LIVE Macau poker room is playing host to the ever-popular Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Macau 2018.

The third day of the 12-day extravaganza saw the second starting flight (Day 1B) of the APPT National event playing out and fireworks were at display as a solid field of 355 entries took to the felts which along with an additional 121 re-entries took the total field size to 476 entries.

Among Indians, PokerStars pro Aditya Agarwal along with Mayank Agarwal, Adda52 pro Kunal Patni, Kunal Punjwani, Shashank Rathi, and Arjjun Singh were seen in action on Day 1B with only Singh (80,300) and Patni (50,600) managing to make it through to Day 2. Leading after Day 1B and starting Day 2 as the overall chip leader will be China’s Dayong Zhang who bagged 245,300 in chips. India’s Raghav Bansal (Day 1A survivor) will start fourth in chips with a stack of 210,000. Joining the aforementioned three Indians will be fellow countrymen Benjamin Murry (121,200), Ronak Vyas (100,000), and Young Gun Sahil Chutani (39,500) who all made Day 2 from the first starting flight.

Running alongside APPT National event was Day 2 of high buy-in APPT National High Roller event. By the end of play, the field had dwindled down to 10 players with Canada’s Kristen Bicknell sitting on top of the heap with 1.7 million in chips. APPT National – Day 1B The second starting flight for the first PSPC Platinum Pass event – the APPT National HK$5 Million GTD – saw 355 runners ponying up the HK$10,000 buy-in. With the unlimited re-entry option, a further 121 extra bullets were fired and with that, the total entry count for Day 1B came to 476.

Combined with the 213 entries of Day 1, the event registered a total 689 entries to create a massive HK$6,014,970 prize pool with the winner set to walk away with the lion’s share worth HK$1,293,200 along with the coveted Platinum Pass. By the end of the day’s play, China’s Dayong Zhang emerged as the chip leader and is the overall chip leader going into Day 2 with 245,300 in chips. Japan’s Kazuhiko Yotsushika (231,400), China’s Zhen Wang (221,500) round up the top three while India’s rising superstar Raghav Bansal who topped the Day 1A field will start Day 2 fourth in chips with a stack of 210,000.

A significant number of challengers from our Indian camp including the sole PokerStars pro of the country Aditya Agarwal was seen on the tables. Mayank Agarwal, Kunal Patni, Kunal Punjwani, Shashank Rathi, and Arjjun Singh were the other Indians who joined in on the action but all except Singh (80,300) and Patni (50,600) busted before the end of play. Kunal Patni Other team PokerStars pros and recently engaged couple Celina Lin and Randy ‘nanonoko’ Lew too busted before play concluded for the day.

The 229 survivors (70 survivors of Day 1A + 159 survivors of Day 1B) will now unite for the first time today for Day 2. Raghav Bansal.

Top 10 Stacks At The Start of Day 2

1. Dayong Zhang – 245,300

2. Kazuhiko Yotsushika – 231,400

3. Zhen Wang – 221,500

4. Raghav Bansal – 210,000

5. Chunlei Yang – 191,200

6. Fabrice Soulier – 186,200

7. Jing Wang – 178,000

8. Zebin Sun – 175,100

9. Hon Cheong Lee – 171,500

10. Chengjie Ji – 171,100

APPT National High Roller Day 2 The Day 2 of the HK$80,000 APPT National High Roller event saw 10 new entries including UK’s Tom Alner, Belgium’s Davidi Kitai and China’s Wayne Zhang who all joined the 52 survivors of Day 1. With this, the total entry field touched 117 entries (83 unique entries + 34 re-entries) generating a HK$8,714,160 prize pool with the top 17 places making it in the money.

At the end of the day’s play, only 10 players survived with Canadian poker pro Kristen “krissyb24” Bicknell leading the pack with 1.7 million chips and is the strongest contender for the HK$2,192,000 top prize.

Day 2 Recap With the top 17 places assured a min-cash of HK$137,000, action was fierce right from the start and notables who missed the money bus included Steve O’Dwyer, Isaac Haxton, Dan Smith, Joe Hachem, Nick Petrangelo and Adrian Mateos. The unenviable bubble boy tag went to Wayne Zhang who busted in 18th place. Malaysia’s Michael Soyza was the first to fall in the money followed by Germany’s Rainer Kempe (13th place), Canada’s Luc Greenwood (14th place), Taiwan’s Pete Chen (15th place), and China’s Genhan Li (16th place).

Two-time WSOP bracelet winner Bicknell then eliminated two players in one hand where she sent Germany’s Jan-Eric Schwippert and New Zealand’s Thomas Ward packing in 12th and 11th place respectively. Germany’s Felix Schulze (933,000) and 2016 GPI Player of the Year David Peters (820,000) round up the top three. Defending champion Michael Addamo managed to make it to the final day as well and will start Day 3 with the shortest stack of 149,000.

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Kristen Bicknell – 1,707,000
2. Felix Schulze – 933,000
3. David Peters – 820,000
4. Allen Bedwick – 605,000
5. Hongjun Zhao – 417,000
6. Klaus Pautrot – 406,000
7. Matthew Moss – 384,000
8. Wang Yong – 297,000
9. Alex Lindop – 163,000
10. Michael Addamo – 149,000

Keep following all the updates from APPT Macau 2018 right here on PokerGuru!

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Up Your Game

  • Learn from the best Connect with India's top players
  • Boost your bankroll Exclusive real money bonuses
  • Claim your profile Your personal poker dashboard

Top Online Poker Rooms