APPT Korea 2019: Yasheel Doddanavar 3rd in Chips in ₩4M High Roller, Hung Sheng Lin Leads Final 12 in Main Event

APPT cover April 14
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh April 14, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The 21-event Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Korea currently underway at Paradise City, Incheon in South Korea is on the edge of culmination, today being the final day of the series. Headlining the action today will be the ₩1.8 Million Main Event and the ₩4 Million (₹2.43 Lakhs) High Roller that will both play down to a winner.

The ₩4M High Roller saw 155 entries (includes 36 re-entries) on its opening day, and only 72 found a bag for Day 2. With registrations open today as well, the field is expected to see a few late entries. If Japan’s Keiji Takahashi carries the biggest stack to Day 2, Indian challenger Yasheel Doddanavar isn’t far behind. Doddanavar has been one of the most visible Indians in the series. In the ₩1M Short Deck Re-Entry, Doddanavar led the seven finalists into Day 2 and earned a third-place payout for ₩7,578,000 (~₹4.58 Lakhs). Doddanavar entered the High Roller after his elimination on Day 1B of the Main Event and keeps title hopes alive as he bagged the third biggest stack, of 255,000 for the final day.

Yasheel Doddanavar
Yasheel Doddanavar

Alongside the High Roller was the ₩1.8 Million Main Event that saw 153 survivors from the 581-strong field return on Day 2. A day`s play later, the field was trimmed down to the final 12 finishers. 2011 Asia Player of the Year (APOY) Hung Sheng Lin is the man in charge holding a massive stack of 2,180,000 that towers over his other opponents. Team India`s run at the event is over with both Doddanavar and Meherzad Munsaf who entered Day 1B, failing to advance to Day 2.

In side event action, the ₩100K Flipout registered 140 entrants (includes 69 re-entries). Dutchman Martijn Gerrits emerged triumphant over his opponents to take down his third career Flipout title for ₩3,002,000 (~₹1.82 Lakhs).


4M High Roller NL Hold ‘em –Day 1 Recap

The APPT Korea ₩4 Million buy-in High Roller NL Hold ‘em saw 115 entries (includes 119 unique entries) coming in on the opening day. The tournament surpassed previous year’s turnout of 82 with a prize pool collection of ₩556,295,000 (~₹3.39 Crores) so far. With the format allowing unlimited re-entries and with registrations still open till the end of Level 12 today, the field size and the final prize pool is likely to expand further.

Day 1 saw some fierce competition on the felts, and only 72 runners made it to Day 2. Among the 72 survivors was India’s Yasheel Doddanavar who made it through on just one bullet. With 255,000 in chips, Doddanavar sits comfortably as the third largest stack behind Japan’s Keiji Takahashi (509,500) and Malaysian heavyweight Michael Soyza (264,000).

Takahashi, who had suffered several major setbacks and was left with less than half his starting stack by level six improved his position after scoring a big double-up. He catapulted into the top spot in the final level of the night after eliminating Xiaosheng Zheng in what turned out to be the biggest pot of the tournament so far.

Soyza who has already won the ₩10M Super High Roller title and is fresh off his 20th place finish (₩6,400,000 – ₹3.90 Lakhs) in the Main Event entered the event late. Soyza managed to spin up his stack well in time to end his day as one of the top stacks.

The list of eliminations on Day 1 featured Christopher Park, Jun Obara, Single-Day High Roller champion Toshiyuki Onda, Jack Wu, Norihiro Otani, Yuki Ko, Robert Glasspool and Alex Lee, but they still have the option to re-enter on Day 2.

Natalie Teh (136,500), Randy Lew (121,500), Minh Le (104,000), Wayne Heung (92,000), Phachara Wongwichit (66,500), Irshat Shaykhov (61,600) and Dong Guo (60,500) are among the notable players still in the running.

Keiji Takahashi
Keiji Takahashi leads 72 to Day 2 of High Roller

Top 10 Stacks At The End Of Day 1

  1. Keiji Takahashi – 509,500
  2. Michael Soyza – 264,000
  3. Yasheel Doddanavar – 255,000
  4. Daniel Smiljkovic – 247,000
  5. Kenny Shih – 210,000
  6. Reo Hayano – 204,500
  7. Ming Huang – 195,500
  8. Shinryo Nonin – 184,000
  9. Vincent Li – 182,500
  10. Dong Chen – 179,000


1.8 Million Main Event – Day 2 Recap

The APPT Korea ₩1.8 Million Main Event was a record-breaking event as with 581 entries, the event created a new record for the biggest APPT turnout on Korean soil.

When the 153 survivors returned on Day 2, it was Russia’s Konstantin Pogodin in pole position. Surprisingly, Pogodin had a rough run on the felts and fell out (18th for ₩7,750,000) yesterday.

Defending champion Michael Soyza is on a heater on a lifetime and given his recent form, he was the most followed player in the Main Event. Well, the Malaysian didn`t disappoint and once again went on a deep run trying to defend the very title he had won last year. Unfortunately for Soyza, it was not meant to be; he got short after losing a big pot to Tao Fan and was eliminated not long after that by Kun Jiang in 20th place (₩6,400,000).

The money bubble was breached before the dinner break, and it was China’s Yilu Yuan who fell at the hands of Team PokerStars pro Celina Lin in 73rd place, leaving the remaining 72 players in the money for an assured ₩3,290,000 (~₹2 Lakhs).

Ching Wei Chen (11th for ₩12,750,000), Tsun Ming Chan (17th for ₩7,750,000), Randy Lew (19th for ₩6,400,000), Team PokerStars pro Celina Lin (22nd for ₩5,500,000), Phachara Wongwichit (35th for ₩4,570,000) and Vincent Li (61st for ₩3,470,000), were among the notables who made the money list.

Leading the final 12 on Day 3 is Hung Sheng Lin who carries a stack of 2,180,000. Lin who won the Asia Pacific Player of the Year (APOY) distinction in 2011 was flying under the radar for the most part of the day but gained ground once the field whittled down to the last three tables. Close on Lin’s heels are Japan’s Tomomitsu Ono (2,035,000) and China’s Jiang Chen (1,870,000).

Also in contention is APPT National runner-up Xinglong Huang who just days ago took down the ₩250K NLH Re-Entry.  

Hung Sheng Lin
Hung Sheng Lin leads the final 12 in Main Event

Top 10 Stacks At The End Of Day 2

  1. Hung Sheng Lin – 2,180,000
  2. Tomomitsu Ono – 2,035,000
  3. Jiang Chen – 1,870,000
  4. Tetsuro Tomita – 1,820,000
  5. Yinsheng Yang – 1,660,000
  6. Huidong Gu – 1,420,000
  7. Sparrow Cheung – 1,330,000
  8. Xinglong Huang – 1,320,000
  9. Ching Wei Chen – 1,190,000
  10. Tao Fan – 920,000


100K Flipout

The ₩100K Flipout kicked off on April 13 with a starting field of 140 runners (includes 69 re-entries). Only 14 players earned at least ₩244,000 (₹14,873) from the ₩12,222,000 prize pool.

Netherland’s Martijn Gerrits took down the title for ₩3,002,000 (~₹1.82 Lakhs) in prize money. Gerrits, who is a regular at Asian events in Vietnam, Japan, and South Korea, picked up his best career score at the WSOP last year where he finished 15th in the $10K NLHE Main Event Championship for $475,000.

In the Flipout event, he defeated Taiwan’s Ta Wei Tou heads-up to win ₩3,002,000 (~₹1.82 Lakhs) in prize money.

Martijn Gerrits
Martijn Gerrits wins ₩100K Flipout

Final Table Results (KRW)

  1. Martijn Gerrits – ₩3,002,000
  2. Ta Wei Tou – ₩2,255,000
  3. Saeha Yamane – ₩1,491,000
  4. Tatsuhiko Terai – ₩1,167,000
  5. Jinghan Yan – ₩941,000
  6. Xinran Fu – ₩733,000
  7. Atsuko Takano – ₩581,000
  8. Naruyasu Ota – ₩452,000
  9. Kohei Maruyama – ₩342,000


Content & Images Courtesy: Asia Pacific Poker Tour & PokerNews

Keep following PokerGuru for the more exciting updates from the 2019 APPT Korea!

Leave a Reply

Notify of

Up Your Game

  • Learn from the best Connect with India's top players
  • Boost your bankroll Exclusive real money bonuses
  • Claim your profile Your personal poker dashboard

Top Online Poker Rooms